Book Review – Cupid is Complicated by Namita Bajaj

This Romantic Fiction is the best I’ve read in a while. The story is mature even though the backdrop is of a college. The main characters of Dhwani and Naman are very subtle and classy. Whereas the characters of Paarth and Aakash are confusing. At one point it says that Aakash has feelings for Dhwani, and then in next few chapters, it says Paarth has feelings for her. I had to go back to the previous chapters to confirm what I read which kind of spoilt my flow. The other thing that irked me was the rare but evident grammatical and spelling errors.

Coming to the plot, it was a predictable one but with an anticlimax. I sat back for half an hour going back through the story again to analyse where all things could have settled between the two love birds, but the plot was so wonderfully set that I couldn’t negate with the story at any point!

Considering the genre, I loved how the narration was so mature and respectful, which I specifically look for in a romantic fiction. The writing style was simple yet unique and again added to the charm of the story.

The cover design with the embossed lettering was apt when combined with the white background. Overall a flawless book cover design, also giving a hint about the plot.

All in all, this is the kind of book that I’d want to read again after a few months or years perhaps.

Leave a comment